HOMEMADE BISCUITS By: April Crowe

I took a couple days off from work last week to catch up on my “work” at home. I did get a lot accomplished, but it seemed I wasn’t the only one who was writing. I’ve been sitting on this post for a almost a week now, trying to come up with a story to set off it off, but some things tell thier own story…

Homemade Biscuits
Written: April 27, 2014
By: April Crowe

Although growing up, I never made you proud .
And you voiced your opinion of me quite loud.
We didn’t share that mother/daughter love.
I prayed for that to the heavens above.
I lost my dad …. who I thought was the best.
But I hurt more for you to suffer that test.
Even before then you were mean, loud, and bitter ….
But no matter what, you taught me…not to be a quitter .
Then one day it happened, you were diagnosed with a disease that takes your mind.
So whatever peace with you…I would never find.
I was your caretaker, I was that girl.
Nobody else wanted to give it a whirl.
I watched you change from bitter to kind .
Laughter erupted from you, when you lost your mind .
I never begrudged you for being so mean.
The life you lived before us was bitter and lean.
The disease you had made you the child.
I was your mother and the time was worthwhile.
I will see it to the end, I will love you, it’s true.
And NOBODY will ever make biscuits like you !

My good friend let me share this poem. Please honor her hard work if you find that you’d like to share.

2 thoughts on “HOMEMADE BISCUITS By: April Crowe

Leave a Reply

