Review- Protective Instincts

Protective Instincts (Mission: Rescue #1)Protective Instincts by Shirlee McCoy

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is my first read by Shirlee McCoy and the Love Inspired Imprint from Harlequin. The imprint itself has always intrigued me. The cover’s are beautiful and the blurbs sound nice, however I’ve always worried that they may come across as a little preachy. Although I don’t mind a modest love story, I’ve am not a fan of religion being the primary focus in my fictional romance stories.

Raina Lowery has been through a lot. Attempting to mourn the loss of her husband and son from a car accident, she goes on a mission to Africa and is captured by rebels. Rescued and back home, she throws herself into securing a visa for the little boy, who helped her while she was held captive, and awaits his arrival to the United States.

Jackson Miller understands loss. After his sister goes missing in Cambodia, he and his brother start a company that helps families bring their loved ones home. He loves his job, but lately he realizes he’s allowed it to consume his life.

From the beginning, the trope of this book is easily recognizable-boy rescues girl and they fall in love. However one should not let that distract them from trying this out. The developing relationship between the hero and heroine unfolds nicely with just enough tension to make you keep wanting more and an element of suspense that keeps you guessing until the very end. My worries of religion taking away from the storyline were quickly dispensed. Although the story as a whole is reserved in the sexual aspect, it was fully satisfying as a romantic read. I immensely enjoyed my first Love Inspired book written by Shirlee McCoy and will definitely continue reading them.

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Available on Amazon

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review- Protective Instincts

Leave a Reply

