MY WRITING PROCESS: A BLOG TOUR

I was invited to participate in ‘My Writing Process: A Blog Tour,’ by a writer friend and mutual Whataburger lover, W.C. Cunningham. Bill lives in in the wooded hills of Western New York and is currently working on his first mystery/thriller.  You can find out more about him on his blog, W.C. Cunningham, Writes.

Each person who is tagged or asked to participate in this blog tour answers four questions about their work and writing process, then introduce three other writers. This gives readers and writers a chance to meet and get to know writers they might not have otherwise known about.

What am I working on?

I always seem to have more than one story going on in my head, therefore, I’m typically working on more than one project at a time.  Eventually one storyline takes over, demanding more of my attention and I’ll submerge myself into it until it’s finished.  With the recent release of Drive Me Sane and the demands that come along with launching a new book, I am just now picking back up on my writing and currently have two WIP.  One is a modest love story of a couple on the verge of divorce, who feel they’ve exhausted all possibilities of reconciliation.  The other is a bit more spicy and follows along with the music theme of Drive Me Sane, but is not a continuation of a series.

How does my book differ from others in its genre?

There are very few stories that haven’t been told in one way or another, which makes this question an important one for  authors. Putting a new spin on an old idea is the object of the game and it isn’t always easy.  I like to write about female characters that don’t conform to your usual heroine.  Drive Me Sane, had a female soldier suffering from PTSD.  I figured there were enough books about the hot, male soldiers coming back from war and not any that I’d read about a woman.  My current WIP about the divorcing couple has a woman who can drive a race car just as well as her husband can.  And the more spicier story revolves around a high profile musician, but doesn’t actually show his celebrity side much.  I wanted to show that he is normal and ordinary even though he’s well known.  Overall, I think I write average love stories.  I don’t push the limits much or go outside of the box, but I do try to make them unique in my own way.

Why do I write what I write?

Easy.  I love reading romance, but I love writing about it even more.

How does my writing process work?

I’m not ashamed to admit that I have some obsessive compulsions.  Organization has definitely always been one of them.  I’m a bit of a freak about it at home and work.  My writing…not so much.  I dive in and go with it.  I’ve never made an outline or written out a plot to follow. I don’t own a character “book” or “bible” as some refer to it.  I am trying to be better about jotting down a list of each character and their physical and personality traits, but it’s not something I do without having to remind myself.  I get an idea in my head and I put it down.  This process probably isn’t ideal for most, but it works for me.   My characters tend to take over my stories and lead me places I never intended to go, so plotting it out before I get there seems like a waste of time.  I feel if you have a story to tell, it will come out and how you go about arriving at the end result isn’t all that important.

I’m a wife, with two active boys that participate in an array of activities and I work full time, so setting aside time to write can be difficult. I get most done late at night and early mornings on weekends.  However sometimes when I have  an idea wanting to come out, my compulsive behaviors take over and I’ll slave away every free moment I have.  Lucky for my family that doesn’t happen that often, but they seem to understand and support me when it does.

Writing and publishing a book has been a wonderful experience and I can’t wait to see what the future might hold.

Now to tag three others…coming soon.

One thought on “MY WRITING PROCESS: A BLOG TOUR

Leave a Reply

