7 Facts- One Lovely Blog Award

There seems to be a trend of these going around.  So far I’ve been nominated to  participate in four different kinds of blog tags/tours and while some may find them bothersome or annoying, I quite love reading everyone’s answers and finding out a little more about my writer friends. This nomination came from my friend Bill.  When Bill started following me on twitter, I saw one thing on his profile that caught my attention.  Whataburger.  Now if you’ve never had this southern delicacy, I’m sorry.  You are truly missing out on one of the best fast food hamburger joints around.  However, Bill and I have more in common other than our taste in food.  Both from the south, we migrated north and live in small-town communities where we share in our loathing of satellite internet.  Bill is currently working on his first thriller and if you’re not following his blog, you should be, because he’s an all around great guy to know.  W.C.Cunningham

7fd5e-onelovelyblogaward

The rules of this blog hop type award are that I share 7 facts about myself, and links to 15 blogs that I enjoy reading. I’ll be honest, I’m terrible at nominating other blogs, because I never want anyone to feel pressured to participate.  However that doesn’t mean I don’t want to continue the trend.  So please, anyone that would like to join in the fun, do so.  I’d love to see your answers and would gladly link your post back to this blog.  I’d also appreciate a link back to mine.  Now what to do?  Share 7 facts about you that we don’t know, and nominate 15 blogs you like (we’ve already discussed this, you choose how you want to handle it.)

Here we go with 7 lovely facts about me:

1. I’ll probably have a few gasp here, but I don’t like chocolate.  Nope, not a fan.  Unless we are talking about Whoppers, which I can eat my own weight in.  No chocolate cake, pie, or ice cream for me.  It’s just never something that I acquired a taste for.  I’m a plain ol’ vanilla kind of girl.

whoppers

2. I find some of the most inappropriate things funny sometimes.  I should be ashamed, but I’m not.  I think it comes from the built up tension and stress from my day job.  I see, hear and deal with things and people that never seem to amaze me.  Just when I think I’ve heard every story imaginable, somehow someone still surprises me.  So no, nothing I come across ever really sends me into to shock and I’ve learned to take all the ill-humored things in life and laugh at them.  I don’t however embarrass my family and friends by sharing them all on Facebook.  I do put the claim on Pinterest though, so if you follow me there, it’s fair game and I can’t promise that it’s always going to be PG rated.

boob
3. I decorate cakes.  I’m no cake boss, but it’s something that I like to do.  During college, I worked nights in a bakery.  My duties were to get the production ready for the next day, however I was usually there by myself and had to learn to write on cakes for those that came in last minute and purchased one out of the ready made case.  Eventually the decorators began showing me other things and I found it was something that I enjoyed.

IMG_9295[1]

4. I love traveling and taking road trips with my family. As I mentioned earlier, we live in a very small community.  At times the greater population can be a little judgmental and narrow minded (two traits I have little tolerance for). So, it’s important to me that my children know there is a whole big world full of different cultures, religions, thoughts and beliefs.  Don’t get me wrong, I love where I live.  Small-town life definitely has it’s perks and our area is absolutely beautiful.  I’d love nothing more for my boys to take root and raise their own families here, but I also want them to experience the bigger picture.

yellowstone

   5. My husband and my paths weirdly crossed before we ever met.  Once upon a time in a small town in Kentucky, there was a brother and a sister who became doctors.  One went on to practice locally and delivered my husbands two brothers.  While the other somehow ended up in Texas and delivered me 🙂  Yep, before we ever knew each other, we had a connection.  We came about this bit of information after we were married and moved back to Kentucky, when the doctor in Texas passed away and my mom noticed that his obituary named a sister living in a neighboring Kentucky town of ours.  I asked my mother in law and she confirmed that the sister had delivered her two eldest sons.  I think it’s pretty neat.

texasKY

6. I always cry at weddings, funerals and any time I hear The Star Spangled Banner.  I can’t help it, trust me, I try not to tear up and it never works.  It doesn’t matter who the people are or what type of event I’m at, a few tears will fall.  It’s kind of funny and amusing because I’m normally quite the opposite, especially at work, but those three things get me every time.

banner

7.  I have a wide variety of taste in books and music.  I’ll read just about anything.  I love any variation of romance from the clean and sweet to the more dark and erotic tales.  I easily get lost in a good thriller and true crime stories and I very much enjoy memoirs.  My taste in music is the same.  My phone is cluttered with an array of styles and genres. One moment I may be listening to Hank Jr. or Keith Whitley and the next Eminem.  I was introduced to Olivia Newton John, The Oak Ridge Boys, Donna Fargo, and Elvis at an early age.  I listened to a lot of Alabama while in grade school until the big hair bands took off and then I went on a binge of Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, White Snake, and Poison.  Around middle school I was introduced to R&B and I am still a huge fan of Jodeci.  These days I listen to a lot of the newer country. Thomas Rhett, Tyler Farr, Brantley Gilbert, Colt Ford and Cole Swindell are all on my playlist.  Some of my other loves, Bruno Mars, Jeremih, Nickelback, Pink, Phil Collins, Rihanna, and Staind.  I’ll even venture off to southern rock, classical, and even some Celtic stuff on occasion.

Keith Whitleyjodeci-legacyDefleppard

That concludes my contribution to The One Lovely Blog Award. Below you’ll find some great folks that have contributed as well.  I hope you’ll take a look because they are some amazing and talented people.

W.C. Cunningham, Writes

E.L. Wicker, A Writers Journey

Aether House, Writing and Life By Michelle Iannantuono

8 thoughts on “7 Facts- One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Thanks for the nod!

    Wow, what a crazy connection between you and your husband. Destiny, right?

    I get where you’re coming from about chocolate. I love chocolate by itself, but “chocolate flavoring” is not great to me. I always opt for vanilla when it comes to cake, ice cream, candy, cookies, etc. And I’m partial to white chocolate over all others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d like to think of it as Destiny 🙂

      I totally agree with you on the chocolate. It’s not that I am totally against it, but I prefer vanilla any day. I do like white chocolate, though.

      Like

  2. Thank you Dena!! I love your post, it’s so honest and open. I also like some of the musicians you have mentioned. Kudos for you on the cake decorating – I am in awe!! And what about those baby deliveries – that is such a coincidence – written in the stars!! Once again, fantastic post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

