THE KEY TO A WRITERS MIND

IMG_9582[1]

It’s just a key you say?  I guess it is in a way.  There isn’t anything spectacular about it. Small, silver, and ordinary, it’s the kind you’ll find in almost every hardware store, and the possibilities of what it could open are endless.  A secret door.  A locked cabinet.  Desk drawer that’s hiding top secret paperwork.  A treasure chest full of goods.  I suppose it could even be the key to someone’s heart.  Or an invitation for a little … ah hem…. fun!  I could go on and on.  Unfortunately, the only thing I can tell you, is what it doesn’t open.

You see, I found this key on my key ring a week or so ago.  Similar to both my house and office key, I was trying to open the door at work and couldn’t get in.  I looked and saw that it was bright and shiny, unlike the one for home, so I knew it had to be the one I use for the office, but after plugging it back in to the lock, it still didn’t work.  So, I took another look at all the keys on my ring.  I don’t have many- home, car, office, bosses office, and work post office key.  And now, I have this extra key.  Hmm …

I have no idea how it ended up on my ring, or what it goes to, but instead of being concerned with those things, my imagination immediately took off and I began thinking about all sorts of scenarios and storylines that I could possibly use it in.  I’m stealing this line, “Hey, I could use that!” from my friend, Bill, whom it has become a running joke of sorts with, because in the mind of a writer, everything is a potential story.

My husband thinks my mother in-law may have given me a key to their house that I don’t seem to remember.  Maybe or maybe it’s a special key that unlocks the closet to my superwoman suit.  I prefer to think the later.  I suppose I should probably ask, but why … when the possibilities are much more fun to think about.

See I do have a woman women suit!

wonderwoman

So, anyone want to get creative?  Let me know the first thing that comes to mind when you think of a secret key.

17 thoughts on “THE KEY TO A WRITERS MIND

  1. I have a few random keys in my jewelry box. I think they unlock diaries somewhere, perhaps diaries that I had as a kid and have long since lost. Some were picked up from the thrift store. It does seem like the inciting incident in a book though 😛 Mysterious keys are an interesting curiosity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh – I love this! and LOL at ‘I can use this’!! I used to be obsessed with She-Ra so mine would be her costume but I would really like to think that the key is to a door hidden behind the plants in the garden and it leads to a forest in a new world. Great Post!!! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  3. When I think of a secret key. I wonder who all has used it and where all it has been the many travels of the key. I also think of a key to my heart, sole and mind, all have been locked up for so long it’s very hard to open up but the door are slowly coming down. Believe it or not I like the view with the door wide open

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, my first thought was that it belongs to a home where you either housesat or perhaps fed someone’s cat while they were away and forgot to return, but that’s not very interesting! Hmm. Maybe someone put it on your keyring for a door you have yet to encounter?? Could be the first chapter of a mystery or thriller…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the idea of someone putting it on my ring for a door I haven’t yet encountered … maybe to a door that would lead you to clues for a serial killer? Not my thing to write, but I do love reading it. Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Mary.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Indeed. Ignorance could be bliss. Furthermore, where is the mystery? Or the curious scribe within.

        “A poem [for instance] needs understanding through the senses. The point of diving into a lake is not immediately to swim to the shore but to be in the lake, to luxuriate in the sensation of water. You do not work the lake out, it is a experience beyond thought. Poetry soothes and emboldens the soul to accept the mystery.”

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Woeful punctuation, a typo and superfluous words above, courtesy of imdb.

        Please very kindly replace with the following:

        “A poem [for instance] needs understanding through the senses. The point of diving in a lake is not immediately to swim to the shore but to be in the lake, to luxuriate in the sensation of water. You do not work the lake out. It is an experience beyond thought. Poetry soothes and emboldens the soul to accept mystery.”

        This message will self-destruct in 10 seconds.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Your typos are always welcome here, as I’m riddled with them. I keep saying I’ll go back and fix them all, but alas … life gets busy.

    True to what you said above and so eloquently put.

    Like

    1. They’re not MY typos! They’re imdb’s typos!

      Here’s the plan:

      1. I will re-comment with the correct … erm … comment.

      2. You will “Like” it – again.

      3. You will permanently delete the comments at “NOVEMBER 17, 2014 AT 1:55 PM” and “NOVEMBER 17, 2014 AT 2:18 PM”.

      Good deal?

      OK, here goes . . .

      Like

  6. [Clears throat. Gathers thoughts. Looks up at the audience.]

    Indeed. Ignorance could be bliss. Furthermore, where is the mystery? Or the curious scribe within.

    “A poem [for instance] needs understanding through the senses. The point of diving in a lake is not immediately to swim to the shore but to be in the lake, to luxuriate in the sensation of water. You do not work the lake out. It is an experience beyond thought. Poetry soothes and emboldens the soul to accept mystery.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

