HAPPY VETERAN’S, VETERANS’, VETERANS DAY

VETERANS DAY I’d like to consider myself somewhat military savvy.  I grew up near Ft. Hood, Texas, so the military has always played a role in my life.  Many of the kids I went to school with were military brats and seeing a uniform while at the grocery or mall, was an every day occurrence.  In fact the army was what brought my dad from Ohio to Texas, which lead to this little blessing, better known as me :).   While I followed in my mother’s footsteps and met my husband while he too was stationed at Ft. Hood , my sister chose a different role in the military and enlisted in the army.  She met her husband while they were both stationed in North Carolina.  So, as you can see, my military ties are strong, but they don’t end there. I could produce a long list of relatives who’ve served on both mine and my husband’s side of the family and I’m equally proud of each and everyone of them.

But as I began writing this post, I realized I didn’t know much about this day that’s been set aside to honor our military men and woman.   Yes, most of us know it’s a day to honor those who have served, but where did it come from and why November 11th?  I had no clue, which not only saddened, but also embarrassed me.  I’m an American!  I should know these things!  So doing what any good American would do, I Googled it

“To us in America, the reflections of Armistice Day will be filled with solemn pride in the heroism of those who died in the country’s service and with gratitude for the victory, both because of the thing from which it has freed us and because of the opportunity it has given America to show her sympathy with peace and justice in the councils of the nations…” – President Wilson

How many of you knew that Veterans day was once named Armistice Day? I didn’t.  I also didn’t know that we celebrate Veterans Day on November 11th because fighting ceased in World War I on the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month in 1918.  Made a legal holiday on May 13, 1928, President Wilson proclaimed November 11th as Armistice Day, to honor veterans of World War I. It wasn’t until 1954, with the ending of World War II and the high number of American’s who fought in Korea, that veteran service organizations urged that Armistice Day be changed to honor all veterans of every war and thus came the name, “Veterans Day.”

For my fellow writers, I’m not totally off my game today, although grammar is definitely not my strongest point, but yes, Veterans Day minus the apostrophe is correct.   We in America like to keep people on their toes and we went with a grammatically incorrect form of the possessive noun as the official spelling.  ***UPDATE*** After researching this further, I found this information about the spelling of Veterans Day. Veterans Day does not include an apostrophe but does include an “s” at the end of “veterans” because it is not a day that “belongs” to veterans, it is a day for honoring all veterans.

Speaking of America, one of the questions that came to mind when I began writing this post, was if Veterans Day was an American holiday or if other nations also took a day to honor their military men and woman.  If you live in Canada, hopefully you took a moment last Sunday, on Remembrance Day or if you’re one of my new friends across the pond, you too honored your military on Remembrance Sunday.

How this day is spelled, where or how it’s observed, really isn’t important, though.  Regardless of where you live, the military is a vital presence and no matter what you do or you don’t agree with, the men and woman serving, do so selflessly.  So whether you pause at home and think about those that are currently overseas, attend a parade and wave at those that march by, or say a prayer to keep a loved one safe, please take a moment to honor all those who have served and are currently serving.

jamesA few of my favorite Veterans at my cousin’s Airforce retirement ceremony-My sister, my cousin James, my cousin Jesse, and my cousin Christina’s husband, Clay

Vets

More of my favorite veteran’s at our school’s veteran program last year.  3 of the 5 uncles on my husbands side who served, my husband, my husband’s cousin’s husband,one of the daughters who teaches at school, and all the grandkids who attend. A big thank you to my husband’s cousin, Connie, who also teaches there.  She took the picture and gave me permission to use it.

IMG_9738[1]

My sister looking pretty badass in Iraq, 2008

IMG_9737[1]

Last, but not least, my favorite veteran of all, my husband, Kuwait 1997.  He also turns 40 today.  Happy birthday, babe!

9 thoughts on “HAPPY VETERAN’S, VETERANS’, VETERANS DAY

  1. That’s funny, I was just wondering this morning if it is observed on the same day in other countries. 🙂 I didn’t actually question the apostrophe until you brought it up, then I tried to think of how I normally write it. LOL! Excellent post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually read up more on the apostrophe last night and this is what I found:
      “Veterans Day does not include an apostrophe but does include an “s” at the end of “veterans” because it is not a day that “belongs” to veterans, it is a day for honoring all veterans.” Interesting to know! I’ll have to update my post!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, that is interesting. I wish I’d have looked it up before I misspelled mine! Now I’m afraid it would be too obvious to correct, so I’m going to leave it and hope no one notices! LOL! But that explanation makes sense about honoring rather than belonging to them. 🙂 (I thought it was “their day.”)

        Like

  2. Lovely post, Dena. I learned something new yesterday – I have always worn a poppy at this time of year, but never knew that the green leaf should be placed at “eleven o’clock” on the poppy for the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month!

    Like

    1. I must admit- and I should have included this in my post yesterday, I had no clue what the significance of the Poppy was. Apparently it derived from the poem, In Flanders Fields, written by John McCrae (in case you didn’t know that). I’m not sure where I was in history class when we went over World War I, but I must not have listened well. But then, I had the boys track coach as a teacher, whom I thought was pretty nice on the eyes, so maybe that is why 😦 – He was an excellent teacher by the way. Not one of those that flubbed around in the classroom because his real job was on the track. The kind that made it fun and you never forget. Oh now, I’ve gone on a whole different topic!

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Helen!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Veterans Day to you and your husband! My father served in the Navy as a submarine nuke, so I’m a slight military brat 😛 He’d already left by the time I was born though. My grandfather never got drafted, but he did spend most of his career working at the local Navy shipyard. I think most people have some military ties. There are so many vets out there, it’s hard not to!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

