Tis’ The Season

It seems like I just sat down to write my Hello December post and here we are three weeks into the month.  It’s a busy time for everyone, myself included.  Knowing that I’ll be off of work for twelve days, at the end of the month, means that I have to pack four weeks worth of work into two and a half weeks and since my oldest son turns thirteen in a couples days, I’ve got birthday shopping/party(cake and dinner at home) to do on top of finishing up my Christmas shopping.  As of today, I have only purchased four gifts, all of which were ordered online.

My family, some friends, and co-workers also sponsor a local boys home for Christmas gifts each year. Normally we do one cottage of approximately 13 boys, but my sister and her husband, who financially back the biggest portion of this task, decided this year we would take on the entire home.  We are supplying gifts and stockings to a total of 36 boys, ages 8-18.  Last Sunday was spent organizing what we already have and I’ll spend this Sunday getting the stockings ready so that they can be delivered on the 23rd.  By the time Christmas Eve at my in-laws rolls around, I’ll be exhausted, but like I said, I’ll have plenty of time to rest at the end of the month.

With everything going on, I haven’t actually sat down and written a post in weeks and I probably won’t get around to writing anymore until the end of the year.  I have some bookie things still going on.   Pure Jonel is hosting a giveaway of one print copy and one digital copy of Drive Me Sane beginning today and running through the 31st.  I’ll also be on her blog December 25th talking about things I love.  FYI, I’m sharing my super, easy and favorite white chocolate fudge recipe, so be sure to stop by and say hello.  InD’Tale Magazine also featured their review of Drive Me Sane in their holiday edition.  I’ll post that soon.

In the meantime, I’ve been critiquing and beta reading for two other authors.  So far, I have only scanned my NaNo project, hoping that a few of the hangups, I know it has, will work themselves out.  I’m excited to finally dive back into it while I’m off on Christmas break.  An author I met on NaNo looked at the first three chapters and gave me some positive feedback with some areas to develope.  I’m also hoping another author friend is still open to taking a look and critiqueing it with me after the first of the year.

So, yes like everyone, Tis’ The Season to be busy, but I’m trying to take it as it comes.

I’m over the moon today after reading Pure Jonel’s 5 Star review of Drive Me Sane.  Be sure to stop by and enter the giveaway for a signed print copy and digital copy beginning today through December 31st!  And if your needing a quick dessert to make on Christmas Day, check back in for that fudge recipe- no cooking required!Natural BridgeHad a blast at Natural Bridge State Park last weekend.  Thanks to all who stopped by!

7 thoughts on “Tis’ The Season

  1. I am in awe of how much you are always doing for others. You are quite an amazing woman, you really are. BTW, I am dribbling, DRIBBLING at the thought of getting hold of your Nano project. I can’t wait to read/crit it. WOOOO!!! Happy Christmas, Dena. I hope you have an amazing time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to take credit for this, but it was really my sister’s idea. My work has always done something. Sometimes it was families in need through the school system and we did packages to soldiers a couple times, but when my sister talked about doing this, we just started contributing to that. I am mostly the organizer and go between here : |

      I’m happy that you’re still up for it : ) I just want to make sure you get past the release of Fractured Immortal. So you let me know when you’re ready!

      Like

      1. I am totally ready 🙂 Yup, I was sucked up by the release. Even the day before I was due to submit it to amazon, I was still fiddling with it, going through it with a fine tooth comb. That’s not to say it will be 100% free of errors, but her’s hoping!! I think you and your sister are inspirational doing all you can to help. It’s really wonderful 🙂

        Like

  2. Aww, that’s so sweet of you and your family! Happy birthday to your son! He’s now officially reached the age where he can eat his weight in sandwiches. LOL! (At least mine could at that age!) How old are the boys you sponsor? I always found after about age 11, boys were so much harder to shop for than girls. Bless you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rachel. They are ages 8-18 and we get list of what they’d like so it isn’t so bad. They usually don’t ask for much. Mostly clothes and a few small items. A lot ask for candy, which I find really sad (yes they get lots of it). This year almost have of the boys are developmentally delayed so there was a lot of items for younger kids, which is super easy to get.

      My son has been eating his weight in sandwiches for years. He’s a big boy and when I say big, he’s tall and broad. He already wears his dad’s pants and shoes. Thanks for the birthday wishes. We did a little celebrating today 🙂 Hope your holidays are filled with lots of happiness!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Once when my son was 14, he ate an ENTIRE Thanksgiving turkey! And he’s never been overweight, just tall and muscular. My food bill tripled about the time he turned twelve.

        Those boys sound so sweet! That does make me sad that something as small as candy is so high on their wish list. Do you mind if I ask how you got to get involved in this? I mean, who did you contact? I’d love to do something like that in the future. Have a Merry Christmas! ❤

        Like

      2. It’s a local boys home. I contacted them by the email I found online and they put me in contact with the person I needed to talk to. Now, I just contact her directly and she emails me their list. It’s super easy and they are very appreciative.

        Like

Leave a Reply

