ACTS OF KINDNESS

IMG_0196[1]To the man, who without a second thought, picked up my son and put him on your shoulder so he could see the changing of the guard at Arlington National Cemetery last week, thank you!  You didn’t have to do what you did.  You could have stood there like everyone else and ignored my son’s words, “Momma, I can’t see,” but you didn’t. You didn’t know that my son had seen it before on another trip there or that we intended to stick around so we could all see it again, but that didn’t matter to you.  You didn’t know that my son is a huge military buff and no matter how many times he’s seen it or will see it again the future, it’s a big deal to him.  At the age of nine, he knows more about the military than most adults do.  He can spat off the name of most military vehicles and tanks just by looking at them, watches movies and reads books anything military related, almost to the point of obsession.  Being in the military is all he’s ever mentioned wanting to do.  As a parent, we never know what our children might grow up to be.  I have no clue what the future holds for my thirteen year old, but I’m fairly certain my youngest will join the military.  You also didn’t know that just minutes before a group of rowdy teenage boys cut in line and caused us to miss our shuttle, which was why we were late arriving at The Tomb of The Unknown Soldier and why we were stuck in the back where we couldn’t see.  I was pretty ticked off, not only because they jumped line, but because they were led by adults who encouraged their behavior and then condoned their unruly attitudes when roughly twenty plus people weren’t happy about what they had done.  No, you didn’t know that, but it didn’t matter.  You didn’t know how I might react when you tugged at his arm to get his attention and then pulled him over to you.  I must say for a moment I almost went into momma bear mode and was ready to attack, but then you knelt down and I realized what you were doing.  You saw a way to help someone and you stepped up.  I know I thanked you, but I didn’t get your name and while it may have been something you never thought more about after that moment, I did.  A week later, I’m still thinking about it.  Our day at Arlington wasn’t going so swell, but you made it a little bit better.  I hope you know I genuinely appreciated your kindness.  My son thought it was pretty cool that a stranger would do something so nice, which makes me think about how sad it is that my children are growing up in a world where kindness is virtually unknown.  So, maybe it wasn’t a big deal to you, but you made a little boy’s day and his momma’s, too!  Thank you!

One thought on “ACTS OF KINDNESS

  1. Thank you for reminding us that random acts of kindness still happen, Dena. We’re so conditioned to believe these days that any man who touches our kids has ill intent, that it’s easy to forget that most people are good and want to help. Reading your post, I tried to imagine what I would’ve done in your situation, and wonder if I would’ve trusted the man enough to let him lift my kid up to see. I hope so, as I’m sure that man enjoyed helping your son too. Glad it was a good day for everyone, and good on you for trusting your maternal instinct.

    Like

Leave a Reply

